Baltimore   |   Useful Links   

 

A Great Place to Live and Work

BaltimoreThe Graduate Program in Immunology also offers students the advantages of living in one of the East Coast's most pleasant and affordable cities. Baltimore's many urban and cultural attractions are matched by year-round opportunities for outdoor recreation. Located on an arm of the Chesapeake Bay, the city is home to Harborplace, a beautiful waterfront development that includes many charming shops, restaurants and hotels, along with the National Aquarium, Maryland Science Center, and the Columbus Center, a new and much heralded institution for the study of marine biotechnology and archaeology with an impressive exhibition hall.

In and around the city, you'll also find everything from a theater for traveling Broadway shows, a repertory theater troupes, an opera company, and an internationally acclaimed symphony orchestra, to numerous museums and major art galleries. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy Orioles baseball and Ravens football, plus professional hockey, soccer, and thoroughbred horseracing.

Baltimore is about an hour away from Washington, D.C., and three hours from New York City. The Atlantic Coast, Eastern Shore of Maryland, the mountains and open country of Western Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia are all within easy reach.

Hopkins' medical and university campuses also have numerous amenities to offer. A full calendar of intellectual, scientific, and social activities is complemented by extensive sports and fitness facilities and numerous student-led special interest groups.

A Lively Urban Center

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine is based in one of the East Coast's most pleasant and affordable urban centers. Baltimore's nationally acclaimed renaissance has made this modest-sized city on the Chesapeake Bay a lively and engaging place to live and work.

For informative information on Baltimore and the surrounding areas please go to: Hopkins GRO Guide

For more information about Baltimore, you can also check out:

Baltimore night skyline


Arts/Cultural

Music – Baltimore Symphony Orchestra - http://www.bsomusic.org/
Opera – Baltimore Concert Opera - http://www.baltimoreconcertopera.com/index.html
Opera – Peabody Opera – http://www.peabodyopera.org/
Historical – The Baltimore Basilica - www.baltimorebasilica.org/
Historical – Fort McHenry - www.nps.gov/fomc/index.htm
Historical – The Babe Ruth Museum - www.baberuthmuseum.com/
Movies – The Charles Theater - http://www.thecharles.com/
Music – Peabody Institute and Conservatory - http://www.thecharles.com/
Museum – Baltimore Museum of Art - http://www.artbma.org/
Museum – The Walters Art Museum - http://thewalters.org/
Museum – American Visionary Art Museum - http://www.avam.org/
Theater – Baltimore Center Stage - http://www.centerstage.org/
Theater – The Hippodrome - http://www.france-merrickpac.com/

 

Live Music / Clubs

Otto Bar – http://www.theottobar.com/
Rams Head Live – http://www.ramsheadlive.com/
Sonar – http://www.sonarbaltimore.com/
1st Mariner Arena – http://www.baltimorearena.com/
8X10 – http://www.the8x10.com/
Bourbon St – http://www.bourbonstreetbaltimore.com/
Mosaic – http://www.mosaic-baltimore.com/
Club Mist – http://mistbaltimore.com/
Club Hippo – http://www.clubhippo.com/
Grand Central – http://www.centralstationpub.com/
Edens Lounge – http://www.edenslounge.com/

 

Sports

Ravens – NFL: Impossible to buy tickets from ticketmaster, prepare to pay “markup”
Orioles – MLB: Cheap tickets for great seats, Orioles have 13 losing seasons…in a row, you can see them play good teams.  Food is pretty good. 
Blast – Soccer: Fun to watch, reasonable ticket price, they win a lot
JHU BlueJays – Lacrosse: Easy to get to, cheap tickets ($5), good team
Charm City Roller Girls – Baltimore’s Roller Derby Team - http://www.charmcityrollergirls.com/

 

Fun Stuff

Duckpin Bowling –  http://www.baltimoreduckpinbowlersassociation.org/
Mustang Alley – Bar, Bowling & Bistro - http://www.mustangalleys.com/
Patterson Bowl – Can bring your own beer http://www.pattersonbowl.com/
Book Thing – Take as many books as you want FOR FREE! - http://www.bookthing.org/
Baltimore Clay Works – Potter Classes - http://www.baltimoreclayworks.org/
National Aquarium – Friday night after 5 pm - $8 admission - http://www.aqua.org/
Baltimore Zoo – http://www.marylandzoo.org/
Bengies Drive In – Largest Drive In in the Nation - http://www.bengies.com/

Outdoor/Exercise Stuff

Rock Climbing – JHU gym at Homewood or Earthtrex - http://www.earthtreksclimbing.com/
Soccer – At JHU, JHMI, or pickup at Patterson Park 7 days a week
Ultimate Frisbee – Pickup 6 days a week around Baltimore
Driving Range – Bay View Golf – 5 minute drive from JHMI
Baltimore Sports and Social Club – Play almost any sport with friends - http://www.baltssc.com/
Yoga – at JHU, JHMI and Charm City Yoga – http://charmcityyoga.com/

Baltimore City Department of Recreation and Parks – http://www.ci.baltimore.md.us/government/recnparks/
Baltimore County Department of Recreation and Parks – http://www.baltimorecountymd.gov/agencies/recreation/index.html

Gunpowder Falls Park
Federal Hill Park
Patterson Park
Gwynn Falls Trail
Druid Hill Park
Oregon Ridge Park

 

 

Malls

Towson Town Center – http://www.towsontowncenter.com/
White Marsh Mall – http://www.whitemarshmall.com/
The Avenue at White Marsh – http://www.theavenueatwhitemarsh.com/
Arundel Mills Mall – http://www. arundelmills.com


Where We Live – by Neighborhood

Mt Vernon

2  

Fells

3

Remington

1  

Charles Village

9

Lauraville

2  

Ellicott City

1

Federal Hill

2  

Mt Washington

1

Washington Hill

3  

Elkridge

1

Towson

2  

White Marsh

2

Columbia

2  

Parkville